As the Australian Team Championships, the Tour of Margaret River is the ultimate experience for your cycling team. The unique format of the Tour means that amateur cyclists can compete directly against riders from the pro tour peloton. Designed especially for teams, TOMR is a highly tactical race where competitors are allocated points in a way specific to each stage. Simply put, there is no other race on the world cycling calendar quite like TOMR.

With over 100 teams participating annually, TOMR is one of the largest competitive road cycling events in Australia. Teams are seeded into divisions via the stage 1 Team Time Trial, and teams compete for trophies and awards within their division of 60 racers. We are proud to have one of the largest fields of women racing in the country. With open, mixed, and all-women racing categories – and a participation category, we have options to suit all.


The Tour caters for teams with a broad range of abilities. You need to need be able to ride above 25kmh and have good bunch riding skills. Teams are allocated to divisions of similar ability based on times achieved in the stage one time trial.

The Tour is genuinely a race for teams in open and all-female categories. The primary objective of your team is to win the trophy available in your race division by accumulating the fastest team time across the various stages of the Tour.

Tour jerseys are available to win in each racing division. Teams should structure their membership to create opportunities to win jerseys. The 2019 Tour had a total of 36 jerseys to be won, across all divisions and age groups.



TOMR 2020 will be held from November 6-8


  • Teams are to consist of 6 riders with a nominated Manager/Captain (can be riding or non-riding).
  • It is the Team Manager’s responsibility to register and pay for their team/s, read the TOMR Race Book, ensure that all team members are well informed of the rules of racing and the racing schedule, and ensure that team logistics are in hand.
  • All male and mixed teams compete in the Open Classification (mixed teams are a mix of men and women).
  • All female teams compete in the All-Female Classification, but can apply to compete in the Open Division.
  • Mixed teams of three men and three women are eligible to win a medal for Fastest Mixed 50:50 team for Stage 1.
  • All team members must present to all stages in matching jerseys, with the exception of professional riders who are contractually prevented from doing so.
  • No drafting with other teams on Team Time Trial stages.
  • Riders are required to complete each stage in order to start the next.
  • Protests must be lodged to Commissaires by Team Managers only.
Licenses and Ages
  • Riders are required to present a  Cycling Australia Racing License at registration or show proof of purchase of a Cycling Australia Race One Week Membership prior to the race. For riders who compete in several CA-sanctioned races each year, we strongly encourage purchasing the full Racing License.
  • Silver Cycling Australia Licenses, MTBA, BWA or Tri Licences are not acceptable.
  • All riders holding a current Under 19 CA Race Licence are eligible to enter (including those who will not be 17 years of age by November 7th).
  • Riders holding a current Under 17 CA Race Licence, may be eligible to ride, but must submit an exemption form signed by their coach and submitted to WestCycle for approval.
  • Road Bikes only. Disc brakes are permitted. Disc wheels, TT bars, tri-spokes and aero helmets are not permitted.
Course & Support
  • Roads will be a mix of open and closed.
  • Riders crossing unbroken white lines (or using more than half the road when white lines are absent) will be fined and potentially disqualified.
  • No team cars are allowed on course. Penalties apply (see Race Book).
  • Due to the large number of competitors it is not guaranteed that riders will be serviced by support vehicles in a timely fashion. It is advised that competitive teams formulate their own plan to supply protected riders with a spare wheel or a replacement bike from another rider within the team.
  • The best spectator viewing points are at the finish lines of each stage.
  • Jerseys will be presented at the completion of relevant stages; recipient riders are required to be in attendance.
  • To respect the race and sponsors, riders are required to wear their team kit onto podiums.


Idle Timing


Link to Idle Timing


Link to Idle Timing